Tri Series in Bangladesh 2008-09

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Tri Series in Bangladesh 2008-09

Comprehensive Cricket News, Latest Information and Live ball-by-ball Commentary.
Tri Series in Bangladesh 2008-09

Tri Series in Bangladesh 2008-09

Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe join Bangladesh in the Tri-Series, which is scheduled to start from 10 January 2009. Get the latest news of Tri Series in Bangladesh 2008-09 →

Cricket Matches Schedule

Tri Series in Bangladesh 2008-09

Zimbabwe Bangladesh Sri Lanka Tri Series 2008-09

SL v BAN, Final, Mirpur: Sri Lanka wins tri-nation final

Muttiah Muralitharan belted 33 not out off 16 balls Friday to help Sri Lanka recover from 5-6 to beat Bangladesh by two wickets and win the final of a tri-nation limited-overs series.
The legspinner smashed four boundaries and two sixes to steer the Sri Lankans to 153-8 with 11 balls remaining after Bangladesh was all out for 152 at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.
Sri Lankan No. 3 Kumar Sangakkara top-scored in the match with 59 after Bangladesh opening bowler Nazmul Hossain took three wickets and first-change Shakib Al Hasan took two to leave the visitors at 5-6 by the eighth over.
But Sangakkara's 63-run stand with Jehan Mubarak (16) and Muralitharan's unbeaten partnership of 39 with Farveez Maharoof (38 not out) gave Sri Lanka victory in a tournament that also included Zimbabwe.
Earlier, Sri Lanka's Nuwan Kulasekara and Ajantha Mendis claimed three wickets each to bowl out Bangladesh after it was sent in to bat.
SL v BAN, Final, Mirpur: Sri Lanka 153-8 (48.1 overs) beat Bangladesh 152 (49.4 overs) by 2 wickets

SL v BAN, Match 3, Mirpur: Shakib smashes Bangladesh into final

Shakib Al Hasan hit an unbeaten 92 to lead Bangladesh to a five-wicket win over Sri Lanka in the triangular series in Mirpur, securing a place in Friday’s final.
With the game reduced to 31 overs a side due to fog, the hosts chose to field first and dismissed their opponents for 147 as debutant fast bowler Rubel Hossain took four wickets and Mashrafe Mortaza picked up three.
In reply, Shakib led the charge with an outstanding knock to help his side reach 151 for five and book a place in the series final - also against Sri Lanka.
Shakib came to the crease with the hosts struggling at 12 for three, following the early losses of openers Junaid Siddique (nought) and Tamim Iqbal (nine), both run out, and Mushfiqur Rahim (one), caught behind by Kumar Sangakkara off Thilan Thushara.
SL v BAN, Match 3, Mirpur: Bangladesh 151-5 (23.5 overs) beat Sri Lanka 147 (30.3 overs) by 5 wickets

SL v ZIM, Match 2, Mirpur: Sri Lanka beat Zimbabwe by 130 runs

Spinner Ajantha Mendis became the fastest bowler to take 50 wickets in One-Day Internationals as Sri Lanka defeated Zimbabwe by 130 runs in their first match of the tri-series tournament in Dhaka on Monday.
Set to score a modest 211 for victory, Zimbabwe were all out for 80 in 28.2 overs with just Stuart Matsikenyeri reaching double figures.
Mendis took three for 15, completing his 50-wicket haul in his 19th One-Day International and bettering the record of India's Ajit Agarkar who took 23 matches to reach the milestone. Medium pacer Nuwan Kulasekera ripped through the Zimbabwean top-order to take three for 13 while Muttiah Muralitharan claimed two wickets.
Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews was named man-of-the-match. The former under-19 captain toiled hard on a slow wicket to hit an unbeaten 52 off 96 balls to lift Sri Lanka to 210 for six. Upul Tharanga hit 43 and Jehan Mubarak made 31, sharing in a a stand of 69 with Mathews after Sri Lanka had stuttered to 97 for five.
Zimbabwe beat hosts Bangladesh by 38 runs in the opening match on Saturday. Sri Lanka will play Bangladesh on Jan. 14 in their next match.
SL v ZIM, Match 2, Mirpur: Sri Lanka 210 for 6 (50.0 overs) beat Zimbabwe 80 all out (28.2 overs) by 130 runs

BAN v ZIM, Match 1, Mirpur: Zimbabwe defeat Bangladesh in one-day cricket

Elton Chigumbura scored a solid 64 and spinner Prosper Utseya bagged two key wickets as Zimbabwe defeated Bangladesh by 38 runs in a triangular one-day series match at Mirpur on Saturday.
Zimbabwe rode on man-of-the-match Chigumbura's eighth half-century to post 205-9 before dismissing the hosts for 167, thanks to off-spinner Utseya's 2-22 off 10 tight overs.
It was only Zimbabwe's second win in their last 12 one-day internationals against Bangladesh. The Africans take on Sri Lanka on Monday.
Each side will play two league matches before the top two qualify for the final on January 16. Skipper Utseya's decision to share the new ball with Edward Rainsford produced instant results as he grabbed two of the first four wickets to send the hosts reeling at 33-4.
The spinner trapped opener Junaid Siddiqui leg-before for no score with his second delivery and then had skipper Mohammad Ashraful (18) caught by Vusimuzi Sibanda. He conceded just 13 runs in his opening seven-over spell. Shakib Al Hasan, who earlier bagged 3-23, alone offered a stiff resistance with an impressive 52 for his ninth half-century in one-day internationals. He also put on 59 for the fifth wicket with Raqibul Hasan (23).
Bangladesh's chances receded sharply after the dismissal of Shakib, caught by wicket-keeper Tatenda Taibu while attempting to cut Chigumbura. Zimbabwe were earlier struggling at 94-5 after being put in to bat, but Chigumbura propped up the innings with a responsible knock under pressure.
He hit five fours and a straight six off debutant seamer Mahbubul Alam in the last over before being run out. Bangladesh never allowed Zimbabwe to build a big partnership with their tidy bowling, with left-arm spinner Shakib and off-spinner Naeem Islam (3-32) doing the maximum damage.
Stuart Matsikenyeri was Zimbabwe's second-highest contributor with a 51-ball 39, which included six fours.
BAN v ZIM, Match 1, Mirpur: Zimbabwe 167 (46.2 overs) beat Bangladesh 205-9 (50.0 overs) by 38 runs

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.